U.S. Territories

Women's Representation in U.S. Territories

Four out of the six (66.7%) non-voting representatives in the House of Representatives are women. By contrast, only 147 out of the 535 (27.5%) elected members of Congress from the fifty states are women. 

infogram_0_us_territories_vs_the_50_states_in_percentage_of_elected_delagates_that_are_womenUS Territories in Comparison to the 50 US States in Terms of Percentage of Female Elected Representativeshttps://e.infogram.com/js/dist/embed.js?YfCtext/javascript

District of ColumbiaArtboard_1DC.png

Graphic Here 

Mayor: Muriel Bowser (D) has served as mayor since 2015. Sharon Pratt Kelly served as mayor from 1991-1995. She was also the first African American woman to serve as mayor of a major American city.

City Council: Seven of the District's 13 city council members (54%) are women, three out of 13 are black women (23%).

Delegate to U.S. House: Eleanor Holmes Norton has served as the District's one non-voting representative in Congress since 1991.


Puerto RicoArtboard_1PR.png

Graphic Here 

Governor: Two women have served as governor in Puerto Rico. Wanda Vasquez was governor from 2019-2021 and Síla Calderon from 2001-2005.

Legislature: As of 2022, 24 of the 78 seats (30.8%) are held by women.

Mayors: Nine of the 78 mayors are women (11.5%).

Delegate to the U.S. House: Jenniffer González was elected Resident Commissioner in 2016 and is the first woman to hold the position. She faces re-election in 2025.



Graphic Here

Governor:  Lourdes "Lou" Aflague Leon Guerrero, elected in 2018 is the first women governor of Guam.

Legislature: Nine of the 15 seats (60%) are held by women. 

Mayors: Three out of 19 (15.8%) mayors are women.

Delegate to the U.S. House: Madeleine Bordallo (D) was Guam's first woman non-voting delegate from 2003-2018.

U.S. Virgin IslandsArtboard_1USVI.png

Graphic Here 

Governor: No woman has served as governor of the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Legislature: Five of 15 seats (33.3%) are held by women.

Delegate to the U.S. House: Stacey Plaskett (D) currently serves as the delegate to the U.S. House of Representatives, starting in 2015. She is up for re-election in 2023. Her predecessor, Donna Christian-Christensen, served from 1997-2015.


Northern Mariana IslandsArtboard_1CNMI.png

Graphic Here 

Governor: No woman has served as governor of the Northern Mariana Islands.

Legislature: Seven of the 29 seats (24.1%), combined Senate and legislature, are held by women.

Delegate to the U.S. House: No woman has served as the delegate to the U.S. House of Representatives. 

American SamoaArtboard_1AS.png

Graphic Here

Governor: No woman has served as governor of American Samoa.

Legislature: Two out of 39 seats (5.1%) are held by a women. This is the lowest of any state or territory in the country.

Delegate to the U.S. House: Republican Amata Coleman Radewagen has served as American Samoa's first female non-voting delegate since 2015.